Deutsche Version

ELES ABROAD

Internationality is inherent in ELES – if only because of the international diversity of its scholarship holders. ELES is also proud to be able to encourage its scholarship holders to study and conduct research abroad. We support them by helping them to obtain internships, visit conferences, and participate in medical traineeships in foreign countries. ELES also places particular value on its scholarship holders entering into contact with the Jewish communities of the respective countries they visit during their funded trips abroad.

In the face of the challenges of a increasingly globalising world, ELES attaches great importance to the international focus of its programmes and projects. For this reason, it has been steadily increasing its cooperation with partner organisations in other EU countries, the USA and, of course, Israel. It is the goal of ELES to create and shape space for Jewish life in Germany and Europe and to have a formative influence upon the discourse of the Jewish community in the Diaspora.

 

INTERNATIONAL ACADEMIES

The ELES international academies are a key component of our Intellectual Support programme. They give our scholarship holders insights into international centres of Jewish life.

New York City

With its diverse and vibrant Jewish communities, New York is one of the most important centres of the Diaspora. Since 2015, ELES has been running an international academy there in cooperation with the Leo Baeck Institute .

In 2017, the ELES International Academy in New York examined the migration history of German-speaking Jewry to the USA and reflected upon the Jewish-German-American stories of the scholarship holders. As in previous years, a two-day workshop took place at the Leo Baeck Institute. The scholarship holders researched independently on the following topics:

  • Jewish migration to the US during and after World War II with a focus on integration processes,
  • US perspectives on immigration processes before and during World War II and today, as well
  • European perspectives on immigration and migration processes.

The exchange with different Jewish institutions, denominations and scholars in New York offers the ELES scholarship holders an insight into the cultural and religious diversity of Jewish communities.

Israel

The Israel Academy, organised jointly by ELES and the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (another Scholarship Fund),helps to provide ELES scholarship holders with impressions of life in Israel and stimulates discussion about the role that Israel can play for Jews in Germany. The Academy offers participants the opportunity to get to know Israel from different perspectives and intensifies the close relationships between the scholarship recipients of both Scholarship Funds.

An exchange with renowned scientists characterises the Israel Academy programme – supplemented by lectures and workshops by journalists, cultural workers and representatives of various institutions and organisations engaged with Israel. Since the religious life in Israel offers a very different variety than in Germany and plays a central role in society, Shabbat celebrations and visits to synagogues of different denominations are also an integral part of the programme.

In 2016, the third joint Israel Academy of ELES and the Konard Adenauer Foundation took place. The political challenges of today were discussed at a reception in theGerman Embassy and at the Konard Adenauer Foundation’s office. ELES scholarship holders learnt about religious life in Israel by attending Shabbat and denominationally different morning prayers: They also met with organisations called Women of the Wall and Breaking the Silence, and with a civil rights activist, Ari Nitzan, who provided insights into civil society.

 

Contact Persons

Begabtenförderung
Lara Hensch
(030) 3199 8170-21

Begabtenförderung
Dr. Maria Ulatowski
(030) 3199 8170-32

„Nicht nur in Deutschland, sondern in unzähligen Ländern Europas, in Israel und den Vereinigten Staaten, überall fördert ELES heute jüdische Studierende und verbindet sie dadurch.“

Richard Volkmann, Alumnus der Promovierendenförderung

Neuigkeiten von ELES:

Previous Next

Informiert bleiben:

Erhalten Sie über den ELES-Newsletter regelmäßig die wichtigsten Neuigkeiten aus dem Ernst Ludwig Ehrlich Studienwerk.

Förderung im Ausland

Internationalität ist ELES inhärent – schon allein dank der Herkunftsländer der Stipendiat_innen. ELES ist stolz darauf, seine Stipendiat_innen darin ermutigen zu können, im Ausland zu studieren bzw. zu forschen. Wir unterstützen unsere Geförderten ausdrücklich darin, Pflichtpraktika, Konferenzen oder Famulaturen im Ausland zu absolvieren. ELES legt besonderen Wert darauf, dass seine Stipendiat_innen bei geförderten Auslandsaufenthalten Kontakt mit den jüdischen Gemeinschaften des jeweiligen Landes aufnehmen.

Angesichts der Herausforderungen in einer globalisierten Welt misst ELES der internationalen Ausrichtung seiner Programme und Projekte eine wachsende Bedeutung zu und verstärkt aus diesem Grund stetig die Kooperationen mit Partnern in anderen EU-Ländern, den USA und natürlich Israel. Ziel ist es, Räume für jüdisches Leben in Deutschland und Europa zu schaffen und zu gestalten sowie die Diskurse der jüdischen Gemeinschaft der Diaspora maßgeblich mitzuprägen.

 

Auslandsakademien

Die ELES-Auslandsakademien sind ein besonderes Highlight der ideellen Förderung. Sie geben unseren Stipendiat_innen Einblicke in die internationalen Zentren jüdischen Lebens.

New York City

Mit seinen diversen lebendigen jüdischen Gemeinschaften ist New York eines der wichtigsten Zentren der Diaspora. Seit 2015 führt ELES hier deshalb in Kooperation mit dem Leo Baeck Institute eine Auslandsakademie durch.

2017 nahm die ELES-Auslandsakademie in New York die Migrationsgeschichte deutschsprachigen Judentums in die USA in den Blick und reflektierte über die jüdisch-deutsch-amerikanischen Geschichten der Stipendiat_innen. Wie in den Jahren zuvor, fand dazu ein zweitägiger Workshop im Leo-Baeck-Institute statt. Die Stipendiat_innen recherchierten in eigenständiger Projektarbeit zu den Themen:

  • Jüdische Migration in die USA während und nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg mit einem Fokus auf Integrationsprozesse,
  • US-amerikanische Perspektiven auf Einwanderungsprozesse vor und während dem Zweiten Weltkrieg und heute, sowie
  • europäische Sichtweisen auf Einwanderungs- und Migrationsprozesse.

Der Austausch mit unterschiedlichen jüdischen Institutionen, Denominationen und Wissenschaftler_innen in New York bietet den ELES-Stipendiat_innen einen Einblick in die kulturelle und religiöse Vielfalt jüdischer Gemeinschaften – ein Thema, das auch in Deutschland immer wichtiger wird.

Israel

Die gemeinsam mit der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung veranstaltete Israel-Akademie vermittelt Eindrücke des dortigen Lebens mit all seinen Herausforderungen und regt die Diskussion darüber an, welche Rolle Israel für Jüdinnen und Juden in Deutschland einnehmen kann. Die Akademie bietet den Teilnehmenden die ideale Gelegenheit, Israel aus verschiedenen Perspektiven kennenzulernen und intensiviert die engen Beziehungen zwischen den Stipendiat_innen beider Werke.

Ein Austausch mit renommierten Wissenschaftler_innen prägt das akademische Programm – ergänzt um Vorträge und Workshops von Journalist_innen, Kulturschaffenden und Vertreter_innen unterschiedlicher Institutionen und Organisationen, die sich in Israel engagieren. Da das religiöse Leben in Israel eine ganz andere Vielfalt aufbietet als in Deutschland und innerhalb der Gesellschaft eine zentrale Rolle einnimmt, sind gemeinsame Shabbatfeiern und Besuche in Synagogen unterschiedlicher Denominationen fester Bestandteil des Programms.

2016 fand die dritte gemeinsame Israel-Akademie des Ernst Ludwig Ehrlich Studienwerks und der Konrad Adenauer Stiftung statt. Die politischen Herausforderungen wurden bei einem Empfang in der deutschen Botschaft und dem Büro der Konrad Adenauer Stiftung erörtert. Das religiöse Leben wurde durch einen gemeinsamen Shabbat und denominationell verschiedene Morgengebete vermittelt. Treffen mit Women of the Wall, Breaking the Silence und mit der Bürgerrechtsaktivistin Ari Nitzan gaben Einblicke in die Zivilgesellschaft.

 

Ansprechpartner_innen

Studierendenförderung
Lara Hensch
(030) 3199 8170-21

Studierendenförderung
Yana Lemberska
(030) 3199 8170-22

Promovierendenförderung
PD Dr. Eva Lezzi
(030) 3199 8170-31

Promovierendenförderung
Dr. Maria Ulatowski
(030) 3199 8170-32

„Nicht nur in Deutschland, sondern in unzähligen Ländern Europas, in Israel und den Vereinigten Staaten, überall fördert ELES heute jüdische Studierende und verbindet sie dadurch.“

Richard Volkmann, Alumnus der Promovierendenförderung

Neuigkeiten von ELES:

Previous Next

Informiert bleiben:

Erhalten Sie über den ELES-Newsletter regelmäßig die wichtigsten Neuigkeiten aus dem Ernst Ludwig Ehrlich Studienwerk.