

January 10, 2018

Dear Gilad,

Congratulations! On behalf of the Board of Directors of the Jewish Book Council, I am happy to inform you that, out of our many submissions, your book:

Seeking Asylum in Israel: Refugees and the History of Migration Law

By

Dr. Gilad Ben-Nun

Has been selected as a finalist of the

2017 NATIONAL JEWISH BOOK AWARD in the category of

Writing Based on Archival Material The JDC-Herbert Katzki Award

This book was selected after careful analysis by a panel of judges who are all authorities in their field. The judges encountered a great deal of difficulty in making their decisions this year. Each category offered many viable candidates, which made the selection even harder. It is gratifying to know there is a wide range of Jewish content books available. Your book now joins the ranks of the hundreds of well-respected, classic Jewish books that have been National Jewish Book Award finalists. The National Jewish Book Awards, now in its 67th year, is the longest-running program of its kind in North America.

We encourage you to publicize this honor as soon as possible. To assist you, attached is a National Jewish Book Award Finalist seal, prepared by the Jewish Book Council, to print on your book. The seal can we be used for digital or print purposes. Publishers indicate these seals are an effective sales tool.

We recognize and appreciate your editorial decision to publish a book of such high quality; one that enlarges the whole enterprise of Jewish scholarship and contributes to informed living, understanding, and entertainment for the entire English-reading world.

Sincerely yours,

an Faith

Naomi Firestone-Teeter Executive Director

President Jane Weitzman Vice Presidents Joy Greenberg Carol Levin Lenore J. Weitzman Treasurer William Daroff Secretary Elisa Spungen Bildner President Emerita Edith Everett Honorary Chairman of the Board Henry Everett (z"I)

Board of Directors

David Behrman Tracy Brown Paul A. Flexner Mimi S. Frank Idee German Blu Greenberg Stephan Gross Miriam Holmes Howard F. Jaeckel Alan Kadish Altie Karper Francine Klagsbrun Myra Kraft (z"l) Carmel R. Krauss Ruth Legow Dan Levine Judith Lieberman Andrea Miller Julie Potiker Dana Raucher Josh Rolnick Steve Siegel (z"l) Joseph Telushkin Bernard Weinflash (z"l)

Executive Director Naomi Firestone-Teeter Executive Director, Emerita Carolyn Starman Hessel JBC Book Club Director Miri Pomerantz Dauber Editorial Director Carol Kaufman JBC Network Director Suzanne Swift Manager of Digital Content Natalie Aflalo Program Manager Evie Saphire-Bernstein Managing Editor Becca Kantor JBC Network Program Associate Joyce Lit Sami Rohr Prize for Jewish Literature Associate Director Stefanie Shulman Children's and Young Adult Editor Michal Hoschander Malen

