Deutsche Version

Ernst Ludwig Ehrlich Medal for the Sciences and Arts

 The Ernst Ludwig Ehrlich Medal for the Sciences and Arts is awarded by the Executive Board of the Ernst Ludwig Ehrlich Studienwerk (ELES) to outstanding people that have rendered outstanding service to the scholarship programme.

Prize Winners

In 2010, the Ernst Ludwig Ehrlich Studienwerk (ELES) awarded the Minister for Science and Culture of Lower Saxony, Professor Dr. med. Johanna Wanka, with the Ernst Ludwig Ehrlich Medal for Sciences and Arts. The commendation speech was delivered by the President of the Central Council of Jews in Germany, Dr. Ing. H. c. Charlotte Knobloch. The ceremony took place on September 13, 2010 in the liberal Jewish community of Hannover Etz Chaim.

The statement from the Jury read:

During her term as Minister of Science, Research and Culture of Brandenburg from 2000 to 2009, Johanna Wanka made the studying of Jewish studies as a discipline possible at the University of Potsdam. With this, Johanna Wanka has brilliantly taken up and continued Ernst Ludwig Ehrlich’s commitment to rabbinical education in Potsdam. At the same time, Johanna Wanka, through her commitment to the Ravensbrück Memorial, ensures that the suffering and dying of women in the National Socialist concentration camps are remembered today.

Neuigkeiten von ELES:

Previous Next

Informiert bleiben:

Erhalten Sie über den ELES-Newsletter regelmäßig die wichtigsten Neuigkeiten aus dem Ernst Ludwig Ehrlich Studienwerk.

Die Ernst Ludwig Ehrlich Medaille für die Wissenschaften und Künste

Die Ernst Ludwig Ehrlich Medaille für die Wissenschaften und Künste wird vom Vorstand des Ernst Ludwig Ehrlich Studienwerks an herausragende Persönlichkeiten vergeben, die sich um das Studienwerk verdient gemacht haben.

Preisträgerinnen

2010 zeichente das Ernst Ludwig Ehrlich Studienwerk (ELES) die niedersächsische Ministerin für Wissenschaft und Kultur, Professorin Dr. Johanna Wanka, mit der Ernst Ludwig Ehrlich Medaille für Wissenschaften und Künste aus. Die Laudatio hielt die Präsidentin des Zentralrats der Juden in Deutschland, Dr. h. c. Charlotte Knobloch. Der Festakt fand am 13. September 2010 in der Liberalen Jüdischen Gemeinde Hannover Etz Chaim statt.

Aus der Begründung der Jury:

Johanna Wanka hat in ihrer Amtszeit als Ministerin für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kultur des Landes Brandenburg von 2000 bis 2009 Jüdische Studien als religionsbezogene Wissenschaft an der Universität Potsdam überhaupt erst möglich gemacht. Damit hat Johanna Wanka das Engagement von Ernst Ludwig Ehrlich für die Rabbinerausbildung in Potsdam in hervorragender Weise aufgegriffen und fortgeführt. Gleichzeitig sorgt Johanna Wanka durch ihr Engagement für die Mahn- und Gedenkstätte Ravensbrück dafür, dass gerade das Leiden und Sterben von Frauen in den nationalsozialistischen Konzentrationslagern uns heute gegenwärtig bleiben.

Neuigkeiten von ELES:

Previous Next

Informiert bleiben:

Erhalten Sie über den ELES-Newsletter regelmäßig die wichtigsten Neuigkeiten aus dem Ernst Ludwig Ehrlich Studienwerk.